Two days workshop on Indian Mathematics September 13, 2019



### INDIAN MATHEMATICS

**SEPTEMBER 13-14, 2019** 

ORGANISED BY

THE MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY
DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS
CENTRAL UNIVERSITY OF HIMACHAL PRADESH,
TAB-SHAHPUR

#### **REPORT OF THE WORKSHOP**

Department of Mathematics is organized Two days workshop on INDIAN MATHEMATICS w.e.f. September 13, 2019 to September 14, 2019 for the students of Mathematics. The resource persons for this workshop were:

- 1. Professor Krishna murthi Rama Subramanian, Cell for the Indian Science and Technology in Sanskrit, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India
- 2. Professor Clemency Montelle School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand

The basic purpose of this program was to acquaint the students with the evolution of mathematical concepts in ancient India, the contributions of Indian mathematicians in ancient/Vedic mathematical and astronomical fields, and to connect them with the modern aspects of mathematics. It is also expected to obtain measures for the collection of such literature and discuss pertinent future research problems in the history of Indian mathematics. This workshop is very useful in linking the ancient/Vedic Indian mathematical contributions with modern mathematics, and in the exploration of Indian mathematical documents that have never been studied.

The schedule of the program was as under:

#### **September 13, 2019**

Inaugural: 09:00 AM – 09:30 AM

Mathematical Rangoli – 09:30 AM – 10:00 AM

Model/Poster presentation -10:00am - 11:00 AM

Tea Break – 11:00 AM to 11:15 AM

PI-DIGIT contest – 11:15 am to 12:15 PM

Refreshment Break – 12:15 PM to 01:00 PM

Lecture 1: KR - An overview of Indian mathematics and introduction to Śulbasūtras

(01:00 PM - 02:30 PM)

Lecture 2: CM - Geometrical construction in the Śulbasūtras (02:30 PM – 03:30 PM)

Tea Break: 03:30 PM – 03:45 PM

Lecture 3: KR - The Mathematics of Poetry: Pingala's Chandassastra (03:45 PM – 05:15 PM)

#### **September 14, 2019**

Lecture 4: KR - Mathematics in poetry & Combinatorics (09:00 AM – 10:30 AM)

Lecture 5: CM - Selected examples of mathematical poetry (10:30 AM – 11:30 AM)

Tea Break: 11:30 AM – 11:45 AM

Lecture 6: KR - Study of series in India (11:.45 AM – 01:15 PM)

Lunch Break: 01:15 PM - 02.00 PM

Lecture 7: CM - Introduction to trigonometry in India (02:00 PM – 03:00 PM)

Tea Break: 03:00 – 03:15 PM

Lecture 8: KR - The computation of Sines (03:15 PM – 04:15 PM)

Valedictory: 04:15 PM – 05:15 PM

### **MEDIA COVERAGE**



#### Pre-Lunch Session

Sr.	Roll No.	Name of the Candidate	Present/Absent
o.			
	CUHP18IAM01	ABHINANDAN	P
	CUHP18IAM02	AMIT	P
	CUHP18IAM03	ANITA	P
	CUHP18IAM04	ANKIT CHAUHAN	P
	CUHP18IAM05	ANKUSH THAKUR	p
	CUHP18IAM06	ANUJA	P
	CUHP18IAM07	BHARTI SHARMA	P
3	CUHP18IAM08	HINA MALIK	P
	CUHP18IAM09	INDERJEET NEGI	P
)	CUHP18IAM10		P
1	CUHP18IAM12	MANISHA CHOUDHARY	
	CUHP18IAM13		P
3	CUHP18IAM14		P
4	CUHP18IAM15		P
.5	CUHP18IAM16		P
6	CUHP18IAM17	PANKAJ SHUKLA	P
7	CUHP18IAM18		P
8	CUHP18IAM19		D
9	CUHP18IAM21		D
0	CUHP18IAM22	SHRI KISHAN YADAV	
1	CUHP18IAM23	SHUBHAM BHATIA	p
2	CUHP18IAM24		P
3	CUHP18IAM25	SUKANT AWASTHI	D
4	CUHP18IAM25		P
5		SUNIL KUMAR	
6	CUHP18IAM27	TAMANNA	7
7	CUHP18IAM28	VIJAY	P
3	CUHP18IAM29	VIKRAM SINGH	6
_	CUHP18IAM30	VIRENDER KUMAR	, i
-			
	1		



### Pre-Lunch Session

Sr. No.	Roll No.	Name of the Candidate	Present/Absent
1	CUHP19IAM01	AKANKSHA THAKUR	ρ
2	CUHP19IAM02	ANIL KUMAR	P
3	CUHP19IAM03	ANU BALA	P
4	CUHP19IAM04	ARCHIT SHARMA	P
5	CUHP19IAM05	DEEPIKA	0
6	CUHP19IAM06	GARIMA THAKUR	P
7	CUHP19IAM07	KAJAL	P
8	CUHP19IAM08	KAMAL KISHOR	P
9	CUHP19IAM09	KASHIK SHARMA	12
10	CUHP19IAM10	LAVLESH KUMAR	P
11	CUHP19IAM11	MAMTA DEVI	. P
12	CUHP19IAM12	MANISHA	P
13	CUHP19IAM13	MANISHA SHARMA	P
14	CUHP19IAM14	NITISH SHARMA	P
15	CUHP19IAM15	PRAVEEN KUMAR	P
16	CUHP19IAM16	PRIYANKA	P
17	CUHP19IAM17	PRIYANKA THAKUR	P
18	CUHP19IAM18	RAKESH KUMAR	P
19	CUHP19IAM19	SACHIN RANA	P
20	CUHP19IAM20	SAHIL CHAUDHARY	P
21	CUHP19IAM21	SNEHA YADAV	P
22	CUHP19IAM22	SOURAV	P
23	CUHP19IAM2	3 SOURAV	P
24	CUHP19IAM2	4 SUNIL PRAJAPAT	P
25	CUHP19IAM2	SUNNY KUMAR	' Ρ
26	CUHP19IAM2	6 UDIPTA PHUKON	P
27	CUHP19IAM2		P
28	CUHP19IAM2	8 VISHAB KAUNDAL	P
29		THE PARTY OF THE P	P
30			- 5
3	1 CUHP19IAM3	1 MANU BALA	T T



### Post-Lunch Session

Sr. No.	Roll No.	Name of the Candidate	Present/Absent
1	CUHP18IAM01	ABHINANDAN	P
2	CUHP18IAM02	AMIT	12
3	CUHP18IAM03	ANITA	P
4	CUHP18IAM04	ANKIT CHAUHAN	P
5	CUHP18IAM05	ANKUSH THAKUR	ρ
6	CUHP18IAM06	ANUJA	P
7	CUHP18IAM07	BHARTI SHARMA	P
8	CUHP18IAM08	HINA MALIK	P
9	CUHP18IAM09	INDERJEET NEGI	P
10	CUHP18IAM10	KAMAL KANT	P
11	CUHP18IAM12	MANISHA CHOUDHARY	
12	CUHP18IAM13	MANISHA THAKUR	ρ
13	CUHP18IAM14	MANJEET SINGH	P
14	CUHP18IAM15	MONIKA THAKUR	?
15	CUHP18IAM16	NIKITA	ρ
16	CUHP18IAM17	PANKAJ SHUKLA	P
17	CUHP18IAM18	POOJA	P
18	CUHP18IAM19	PRIYANKA DEVI	Ρ
19	CUHP18IAM21	SHIVANI THAKUR	P
20	CUHP18IAM22	SHRI KISHAN YADAV	
21	CUHP18IAM23	SHUBHAM BHATIA	β
22	CUHP18IAM24	SONALI	P
23	CUHP18IAM25	SUKANT AWASTHI	ρ
24	CUHP18IAM26	SUNIL KUMAR	P
25	CUHP18IAM27	TAMANNA	Y
26	CUHP18IAM28	VIJAY	
27	CUHP18IAM29	VIKRAM SINGH	<u> </u>
28	CUHP18IAM30	VIRENDER KUMAR	19
30			



### Post-Lunch Session

Sr. No.	Roll No.	Name of the Candidate	Present/Absent
1	CUHP19IAM01	AKANKSHA THAKUR	r <sup>2</sup>
2	CUHP19IAM02	ANIL KUMAR	P
3	CUHP19IAM03	ANU BALA	D
4	CUHP19IAM04	ARCHIT SHARMA	P
5	CUHP19IAM05	DEEPIKA	2
6	CUHP19IAM06	GARIMA THAKUR	0
7	CUHP19IAM07	KAJAL	P
8	CUHP19IAM08	KAMAL KISHOR	Ó
9	CUHP19IAM09	KASHIK SHARMA	0
10	CUHP19IAM10	LAVLESH KUMAR	D
11	CUHP19IAM11	MAMTA DEVI	P
12	CUHP19IAM12	MANISHA	C
13	CUHP19IAM13	MANISHA SHARMA	P
14	CUHP19IAM14	NITISH SHARMA	P
15	CUHP19IAM15	PRAVEEN KUMAR	Ŷ
16	CUHP19IAM16	PRIYANKA	P
17	CUHP19IAM17	PRIYANKA THAKUR	ρ
18	CUHP19IAM18	RAKESH KUMAR	P
19	9 CUHP19IAM19	SACHIN RANA	2
20	CUHP19IAM20	SAHIL CHAUDHARY	P
2	1 CUHP19IAM21	SNEHA YADAV	ρ
2	2 CUHP19IAM22	SOURAV	P
2	3 CUHP19IAM23	SOURAV	2
2	4 CUHP19IAM24	SUNIL PRAJAPAT	P
2	5 CUHP19IAM25	SUNNY KUMAR	P
2	6 CUHP19IAM26	UDIPTA PHUKON	10
2	7 CUHP19IAM27	VIKRANT DHARWAL	?
2	8 CUHP19IAM28	VISHAB KAUNDAL	'P
2			<i>y</i>
3			ſ'
3	1 CUHP19IAM31	MANU BALA	P



### Pre-Lunch Session

Dated:14-09-2019

Sr.	Roll No.	Name of the Candidate	Present/Absent
No.	CUHP18IAM01	ABHINANDAN	P
2	CUHP18IAM02	AMIT	?
3	CUHP18IAM03	ANITA	P
4	CUHP18IAM04	ANKIT CHAUHAN	P
5	CUHP18IAM05	ANKUSH THAKUR	P
6	CUHP18IAM06	ANUJA	P
7	CUHP18IAM07	BHARTI SHARMA	ρ
8	CUHP18IAM08	HINA MALIK	ρ
9	CUHP18IAM09	INDERJEET NEGI	P
10	CUHP18IAM10		ĵ.
11	CUHP18IAM12		
12	CUHP18IAM13		P
13	CUHP18IAM14		P
14	CUHP18IAM15		C
15	CUHP18IAM16		P
16	CUHP18IAM17		P
17	CUHP18IAM18	POOJA	ρ
18	CUHP18IAM19	PRIYANKA DEVI	P
19		SHIVANI THAKUR	P
20	CUHP18IAM22		
21	CUHP18IAM23	SHUBHAM BHATIA	P
22	CUHP18IAM24	SONALI	Ρ
23	CUHP18IAM25		P
24	CUHP18IAM26	SUNIL KUMAR	P
25	CUHP18IAM27	TAMANNA	P
26	CUHP18IAM28	VIJAY	P
27	CUHP18IAM29	VIKRAM SINGH	P
28	CUHP18IAM30	VIRENDER KUMAR	
29			
30			

9/

#### Pre-Lunch Session

Sr. No.	Roll No.	Name of the Candidate	Present/Absent
1	CUHP19IAM01	AKANKSHA THAKUR	P
2	CUHP19IAM02	ANIL KUMAR	p
3	CUHP19IAM03	ANU BALA	p
4	CUHP19IAM04	ARCHIT SHARMA	D
5	CUHP19IAM05	DEEPIKA	P
6	CUHP19IAM06	GARIMA THAKUR	. 6
7	CUHP19IAM07	KAJAL	P
8	CUHP19IAM08	KAMAL KISHOR	P
9	CUHP19IAM09	KASHIK SHARMA	ρ
10	CUHP19IAM10	LAVLESH KUMAR	P
11	CUHP19IAM11	MAMTA DEVI	P
12	CUHP19IAM12	MANISHA	P
13	CUHP19IAM13	MANISHA SHARMA	P
14	CUHP19IAM14	NITISH SHARMA	P
15	CUHP19IAM15	PRAVEEN KUMAR	2
16	CUHP19IAM16	PRIYANKA	P
17	CUHP19IAM17	PRIYANKA THAKUR	2
18	CUHP19IAM18	RAKESH KUMAR	0
19	CUHP19IAM19	SACHIN RANA	P
20	CUHP19IAM20	SAHIL CHAUDHARY	12
21	CUHP19IAM21	SNEHA YADAV	P
22	CUHP19IAM22	SOURAV	P
23	CUHP19IAM23	SOURAV	ρ
24	CUHP19IAM24	SUNIL PRAJAPAT	C
25	CUHP19IAM25	SUNNY KUMAR	.2
26	CUHP19IAM26	UDIPTA PHUKON	P
27	CUHP19IAM27	VIKRANT DHARWAL	p
28	CUHP19IAM28	VISHAB KAUNDAL	12
29	CUHP19IAM29	VISHAL	P
30	CUHP19IAM30	VISHVENDRA SINGH	P
31	CUHP19IAM31	MANU BALA	0